2017 Award of Excellence Recipients

BCSP is proud to announce the 2017 Award of Excellence recipients

June 22, 2017

CSP Award of Excellence

Rich Baldwin, CSP is Corporate Safety Director for U.S. operations in PCL Construction Enterprises with 43 years of safety experience in government, process chemical industry, and construction. He is a retired Air Force Lieutenant Colonel who had several challenging safety management assignments and flew a variety of Air Force aircraft. Baldwin has a Bachelor’s Degree from Iowa State University and an Masters from Central Michigan University. He is a Professional Member of ASSE and was selected as ASSE Safety Professional of the Year in Alabama in 2005 and 2006. In 2004, Baldwin served as Chair of the ASSE Construction Task Force. In 2004 through 2006, he served as a member of the National ASSE Professional Development Conference Committee. He is also active on the Associated Builders and Contractors National Safety Committee and the National Center for Construction Education and Research Safety Committee and served as past Chairperson. Baldwin was also past Chairperson and continues as a member of the National Construction Safety Executives group.

OHST Award of Excellence

James Lange, CSP, ASP, OHST, STSC is Department Chair for the Safety Engineering Technology Department at Fox Valley Technical College and a Safety Training Instructor. As Department Chair, Lange led program modifications to better meet student and employers’ needs. As a safety trainer, Lange assists the college by conducting an OSHA 10-Hour training as part of an Introduction to Manufacturing course for unemployed or underemployed individuals in his community. He is active in the Civil Air Patrol, holding the grade of First Lieutenant and currently serving as Commander for the Fox Cities Composite Squadron in Appleton, Wisconsin. He holds a Master of Science in Occupational Safety from Southeastern Oklahoma State University, a Master of Science in Management and Organizational Behavioral from Silver Lake College, and a Bachelor of Science in Education in Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health from University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. Lange was named a 2011 Rising Star of Safety by the National Safety Council, the 2015 ASSE Region V Safety Professional of the Year, and the 2016 Civil Air Patrol Wisconsin Wing Safety Officer of the Year.

CHST Award of Excellence

Ann-Marie Grusch, CHST, is a Senior Safety Specialist and the Program Manager for Construction and Contractor Safety for the National Security Agency (NSA) at Fort George G. Meade, Maryland. Grusch has dedicated her thirty-four-year career to proudly protecting the civilians, contractors, and military personnel who “serve in silence” to defend our nation and secure our future. Her focus on construction safety began twenty years ago, she independently developed and implemented a program aimed specifically at construction and contractor safety management. Her work with crane safety, in particular, has been exceptionally noteworthy, evidenced by the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers’ reliance on her expertise as a subject matter expert for crane lifts in the Baltimore-Washington area. Her programs have been benchmarked throughout the U.S. Intelligence Community as best practices. Grusch is a graduate of the Community College of Baltimore County’s Occupational Safety and Health Program. As a Life Member of Arbutus Volunteer Fire Department, she has served in both administrative and tactical positions of President, Vice President, and Fire and EMS Lieutenant.