2016 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) is proud to announce the 2016 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award

June 29, 2016

2016 Lifetime Achievement Award RecipientPaul G. Specht, PhD, CSP is a Professor Emeritus of Occupational Safety & Environmental Health Program at Millersville University. He holds a PhD from Michigan State University with a safety cognate; a Master’s degree in Safety from University of Central Missouri, and a bachelor’s degree from St. Charles Borromeo in Philadelphia.

Dr. Specht has over 40 years’ experience in the safety and health field and has worked in education, private industry, and with the OSHA Consultation Program. He has worked diligently to improve the quality of safety and health education through faculty development and program accreditation and is one of the founders of the Safety Faculty Association, which developed into the American Society of Safety Engineers’ (ASSE) Academic Practice Specialty. Additionally, he served as Chair of the ABET Applied Science Accreditation Commission; Director, on the ABET Board of Directors; and Trustee on the ASSE Foundation. ASSE named Dr. Specht as the recipient of the 2001 Charles V. Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award and the 2004 William E. Tarrants Outstanding Safety Educator Award.