BCSP Announces the Recipients of the 2014 Awards

The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) is proud to announce the 2014 Award recipients

June 11, 2014

The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) is proud to announce the 2014 recipients of the organization’s most prestigious awards. The recipients, Tim P. Delhagen, CHST; Bruce A. Donato, CSP, CHMM, CECD; Douglas R. Handy, CSP; and David V. MacCollum, CSP, P.E. received their awards today, June 11, 2014 during a luncheon at ASSE’s Safety 2014 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida.

BCSP received many nominations of exceptional safety practitioners who have advanced the profession. After deliberating, the BCSP Awards Committee and Board of Directors decided on these four exemplary certificants. David V. MacCollum received the BCSP Lifetime Achievement Award. Bruce A. Donato and Douglas R. Handy each received a CSP Award of Excellence, and Tim P. Delhagen received the CHST Award of Excellence.

Lon Ferguson, Ed.D., CSP, President of the BCSP Board of Directors, said “Our award recipients have many great accomplishments and I am proud to recognize them. They truly represent the values of BCSP and the drive of our certificants.”

Upon receiving his award, MacCollum stated “I am overwhelmed with the great honor of receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals. In its short 45 years of existence, BCSP, as it towers far above my 62 years in safety, has given safety an international professional identity. BCSP made a giant step forward by incorporating an ethic of diversity of knowledge into every discipline of science. BCSP ‘s acceptance of expertise from every field of learning has promoted safety as an essential for the well being of all humanity. As just one of over 25,000 CSPs, I offer my thanks to BCSP for making safety a meaningful profession.”

Each of the award recipients contributed a great deal to the safety, health, and environmental (SH&E) profession. We thank all who submitted nominations and encourage future submissions

Learn more about the BCSP Award of Excellence