2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

BCSP is proud to announce the 2022 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award

May 1, 2023

Dennis BurksDennis Burks, CSP, P.E., worked more than 40 years in the occupational safety and health profession, retiring in 2021 as Safety Director and Assistant Vice President for Kansas City-based engineering and architecture firm HNTB Companies. He is a past recipient of the ASSP Regional Safety Professional of the Year Award and The Builders’ Association Safety Professional of the Year Award.

Burks guided HNTB to numerous safety honors from The Builders’ Association and The Associated General Contractors during his career and to the exclusive Liberty Mutual Gold Award three years in a row. Only seven companies among Liberty Mutual’s client base of more than 700,000 receive the honor.

Burks has been a speaker at numerous national, regional, and local safety conferences, written articles for various publications, and served on many national and local safety advisory boards and committees. He was an OSHA Training Institute Education Center adjunct faculty member for 30 years while working in a full-time safety position and is currently an adjunct professor for Johnson County Community College in Kansas, where he teaches industrial safety. Since retirement, he has remained active in local safety organizations and as a conference speaker.

Burks earned a master’s degree in industrial safety and an education specialist degree from the University of Central Missouri.