2018 Award of Excellence Recipients

BCSP is proud to announce the 2018 Award of Excellence recipients

June 6, 2018

CSP Award of Excellence

Bruce Lyon, CSP, P.E. is Vice President and Director of Risk Management Services for Hays Companies. He has over 37 years of experience in the insurance and consulting fields managing and directing risk services for a wide range of national and global organizations. Prior to joining Hays, Lyon was Director of Safety Services for Packer Engineering, Principal and National Practice Leader with Bureau Veritas, and Vice President and Manager of Risk Services for Marsh & McLennan.

Lyon has been actively engaged in the advancement of the safety profession. He serves as the Advisory Board Chair to the University of Central Missouri (UCM) Safety Sciences program where he is an active collaborator with the faculty, a frequent lecturer and mentor. He is Vice Chair of the ISO 31000 Risk Management standards US Technical Advisory Group (US TAG), a member of the ANSI/ASSE Z590.3 Prevention through Design standard review committee, and a subject matter expert in the development of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals’ (BCSP) Safety Management Specialist (SMS) certification.

Lyon is co-author of the text book “Risk Assessment: A Practical Guide for Assessing Operational Risk,” published by John Wiley & Sons (June, 2016) and is lead author of the book “Risk Management Tools for Safety Professionals,” to be published in August 2018 by the American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP). He has authored numerous articles in the Professional Safety Journal, three of which received 1st place for Technical Writing Excellence by ASSE.

OHST Award of Excellence

Jose Perez, SMS, OHST, CHST, STS, CET has a proven successful track record in changing safety culture and has reduced employee incidents and injuries for over 16 years. With a sincere level of passion for safety and overall worker protection, Perez leads within the safety profession with high motivation and purpose. With a background that demonstrates professional experience, Perez understands best practices and is affiliated with great companies and organizations in the following industries: Agriculture, Construction, Manufacturing, Mining and Oil and Gas.

With a sincere desire to “give back” to the profession and enhance community safety, Perez has served in different capacities within professional boards such as: American Society of Safety Engineers, Safety Professionals and the Latino Workforce, Associated Builders and Contractors, and the Golden Empire Safety Society. Perez is a community volunteer as an Emergency Disaster Volunteer for the Red Cross, Community Outreach Trainer for the California Poison Control, and as an educator for students participating in the annual Agriculture Safety Day event.

Lastly, having facilitated over thousands of hours of safety training under multiple topics and subject matters, Perez serves the profession by constantly promoting individual knowledge growth. Some of Perez’s specialties include: Safety Culture Change, Worker and Management Training and Development, Safety Leadership, Accident Investigation and Regulatory Compliance.

Perez is a resident of the California Central Valley and a father to three wonderful daughters.

CHST Award of Excellence

Joshua Caudill, CSP, ASP, CHST is widely recognized as one of the construction industry’s most prolific and decorated Safety Professionals, with successes in creating and implementing construction education programs, mentoring young Safety Professionals, and working diligently to change the landscape of hazard recognition and mitigation. He is a traveler, eclectic learner and born teacher.

He completed a degree in Organizational Leadership from Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) while working for Ryder Integrated Logistics. Working in logistics fed his desire to become a Safety Professional. Caudill worked for Phillips and Jordan, Inc. Traveling the country, working remotely in Alaska, he still took advantage of growth opportunities, earning a professional certificate in Construction Safety from The University of California San Diego and being heavily involved with the American Society of Safety Engineers.

A partnership with OSHA has always been a passion and has led to numerous alliances with offices throughout the United States and Guam. Caudill is currently a regional Safety Director for DPR Construction where he influences the Florida construction community by leveraging “lessons learned” and “best practices” from DPR’s local and national technical projects. He takes pride in aligning himself with local industry associations that share his passion to provide leadership and develop education and training programs in the construction industry. He has successfully worked with multidisciplinary teams of general contractors and subcontractors to enhance the impact these associations have in their local construction community.

STSC Award of Excellence

Michelle Keever, SMS, STSC serves as a Senior Safety and Health Program Specialist at the East Tennessee Technology Park, where she played a key role in UCOR’s successful attainment of the Department of Energy Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) Star designation. As the UCOR Safety Trained Supervisor Construction (STSC) Certification Program Lead, Michelle has provided training to hundreds of candidates, making UCOR the leading employer of STSC certified employees in Tennessee.

Keever, a founding partner and executive member of Safety Fest TN, manages the identification/scheduling of more than 100 classes and instructors annually. The event has provided free safety and health training to thousands of participants since 2012.

Keever is a member of the Voluntary Protection Program Participant’s Association (VPPPA) Region IV Board and is a Special Government Employee who assists with VPP reviews and evaluations. She is also a Six Sigma Black Belt/Master Champion and Human Performance Improvement Practitioner.