2016 Award of Excellence Recipients

BCSP is proud to announce the 2016 Award of Excellence recipients

June 29, 2016

CSP Award of Excellence

Brad D. Giles, CSP, STSC, P.E., Grad IOSH is Principal of Bradley Giles and Associates. He currently serves as Vice President with FDR Safety. Giles previously served as the Senior Vice President of Safety, Health & Environment for AECOM’s Energy, Infrastructure & Industrial Construction Operating Group and held a similar position with legacy company URS Corporation. In this role, he initiated the first alliance between the federal Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) and a private company. Giles also was instrumental in helping the company become the first engineering and construction company approved under OSHA’s Corporate Voluntary Protection Program. He is a society Fellow with the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), was twice awarded the President’s Award for his work with the Future Safety Leaders program and with young professionals, and received the foundation’s Distinguished Service Award. He is a member of the National Safety Advisory Committee for the Associated General Contractors (AGC), a Director at Large in ASSE, and a member of the Academic Advisory Board for the Health and Safety Program at Murray State University.

CHST Award of Excellence

Jeremiah N. Shupe, CSP, ASP, CHST is the Corporate Director of Safety and Health for Hensel Phelps, a national, full-service facilities solutions provider, with corporate headquarters in Colorado. Shupe received his undergraduate degree in Occupational Safety and Health from Montana Tech. With nearly 15 years in the Construction Industry, he is a recognized leader and outstanding role model, setting a standard of excellence for all safety professionals to emulate. Shupe serves on the Industry Advisory Board for Central Washington University’s Safety and Health Management Program and is involved in a variety of industry groups including the American Society of Safety Engineers and the National Construction Safety Executives. He served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Associated General Contractors (AGC) of California’s Safety and Health Council and was recognized in 2009 as the Harry Eckstein Safety Professional of the Year.