2012 Award of Excellence Recipients

CSP Award of Excellence

June 6, 2012

CSP Awardees

Thomas F. Bresnahan, CSP is the principle Associate of BC Associates, which has provided services to advance product safety, fall prevention, research, standards, training and regulatory issues since he established the organization in 2002. Prior to his current position, Mr. Bresnahan was the Deputy Executive Director and Director of Professional Affairs at ASSE, Alliance of American Insurers’ Loss Control Manager, NSC’s Director of Safety Standards, and the City of Chicago’s Sign Division Safety and Staff Administrator. He has Bachelor and Master degrees from St. Edwards and DePaul Universities, respectively. Mr. Bresnahan was a two-term director of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals and served as its President in 2005. He is also a Fellow of ASSE and recipient of ASSE’s President’s Award, an organization in which he has served in various positions and has been active in since 1989. Mr. Besnahan also serves, or has served, in positions with ABET, ANSI, NFPA and NIOSH.

Bruce A. Brown, PhD, CSP, OHST is the Safety & Health Manager for gkkworks, a global leader in consulting, architecture, technology and construction. He has more than 30 years EH&S experience. Dr. Brown has been an Adjunct Professor for Austin Community College and National University, and an Associate Visiting Scholar for Texas A&M. His published works include a Model Emergency Response Plan, Simplified Systems Safety, Safety Within a Multicultural and Bilingual Workplace, Developing and Implementing a Successful Safety Culture, and Workplace Violence. He has lectured nationally and internationally for ASSE, NSC, VPPAC and Greentech Foundation. He serves as a Los Angeles Executive Board Member and Society Delegate for ASSE and holds membership with the American Society of Healthcare Engineers and the Society of American Military Engineers. He has served as both a Team Leader and Member for Board of Certified Safety Professionals Item-Writing Teams.

David C. Roskelley, MSPH, CIH, CSP has a Masters degree in Public Health with an emphasis in Industrial Hygiene from the University of Utah/Rocky Mountain Center for Occupational and Environmental Health (RMCOEH) and currently teaches as an adjunct faculty member. He is currently serving on the Board of Directors for the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA). Mr. Roskelley is founding partner of R&R Environmental, Inc. a comprehensive safety, health, and environmental consulting firm based in Utah.

Henry J. Smahlik, CSP, CIH serves as Manager of EH&S Consulting and Training Services for the Technical Services Division of Hagemeyer North America, Inc. He is a Certified Safety Professional and Certified Industrial Hygienist and has held both since 1979. Mr. Smahlik has over 35 years of experience in all safety and industrial hygiene and has performed serves in the USA, Qatar, Colombia, England, Scotland, Ireland, Australia, Greece, China, Russia and Mexico. Mr. Smahlik recently completed 7 years as a member of the board of directors of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) where he served as President, Vice President and Past President as well as a 5 year member of the board of directors of the Council for the Certification of Health, Environmental and Safety Technicians (CCHEST). He is also a member of the Advisory Council for the Department of Nuclear Engineering at Texas A&M University.

Dave Walline, CSP is the Global Safety Leader for Owens Corning, Toledo, Ohio. He has worked for Owens Corning for 16 years and has been practicing safety for forty years. Originally from Moline, Illinois, Mr. Walline received a BS in Industrial Technology & Safety from the University of Wisconsin –Platteville. He has been a Certified Safety Professional (BCSP) since 1985 and is a 34-year Professional Member of ASSE. Mr. Walline’s work and personal interests include Prevention through Design, Risk Assessment, Serious Injury Prevention and EHS Talent Development. He has authored and presented technical papers at national safety conferences for professional organizations such as ASSE, National Safety Council and ORC Worldwide.

OHST Award of Excellence

Eric Bertolet, OHST, COSS, STS, Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate, has been a Safety Professional over 20 years. He spent three years as a Firefighter/EMS Coordinator, Galvez-Lake Fire Department, and 20 years as an Ascension Parish Deputy Sheriff, Coast Guard certified boat patrol officer, SWAT Medic, firearms expert. He is the host and founder of the Safe Nation Radio Broadcast, the only on air radio program anywhere in the world solely dedicated to safety and health, Bertolet is also a safety motivational speaker and entertainer. Author, performer, musician and US patent holder. Bertolet is currently the Corporate Safety Manager for TOPCOR Companies, overseeing the safety programs of 12 different companies since July 2008. Previous 21 years at ExxonMobil, BR Complex. He is the winner of many awards.

CHST Award of Excellence

Charles Soderquist, CHST, STS has played an instrumental role in improving Sturgeon Electric Company’s safety culture and programs since 2005. His vision, passion for safety and leadership abilities have contributed to Sturgeon’s industry-leading safety statistics as well as the company’s 2008 award of STAR status in OSHA’s Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) Mobile Workforce Demonstration and the 2012 AGC (Associated General Contractors) 1st place Construction Safety Excellence Award (CSEA) in the specialty contractors division (over 1M man-hours). Mr. Soderquist has obtained the Board of Certified Safety Professionals Construction Health and Safety Technician (CHST) certification and is also an OSHA VPP Special Government Employee (SGE). His active involvement as an SGE in the industry earned him the distinction of being named Region VIII SGE of the year as well as the Co-National SGE of the year in 2010.