2018 Current Changes Index

Latest Policy and Procedure Changes

Published on Monday, December 18, 2017


Effective Date: February 1, 2018
  • The Occupational Health and Safety Technologist® (OHST®) certification will be renamed the Occupational Hygiene and Safety Technician (OHST®). Read the name change FAQ for details.

Effective Date: June 18, 2018

  • CSP credential requirement now met by CP-12 Safety Professional Certificate in Safety and Occupational Health, U.S. Army Combat Readiness Center (ACRC).


Effective Date: November 10, 2017
  • Any credentials that meet the CSP’s credential requirement will now meet the CET’s credential requirement.
Effective Date: January 1, 2018
  • Several changes to the GSP program will take effect:
    • Those graduating on or after October 1, 2018, will have one year from their graduation date to apply for the GSP.
    • Those attaining the GSP on or after January 1, 2018 may hold the designation for a maximum of six (6) years.
    • Graduates who obtained their degree during the time-period prior to October 1, 2018 and fall within a QAP’s “Applicable Dates” as noted on the GSP QAP List may apply for the GSP through January 1, 2020.
Effective Date: January 1, 2018
  • BCSP will discontinue application fee waivers for the CSP, SMS, ASP, OHST, CHST, STS, STSC, and CET certifications to students who graduated from an ABET program in the last three years, however BCSP will continue to waive application fees for the GSP designation for those who graduate from approved QAP schools.
Effective Date: July 2, 2018
  • The CSP will require applicants hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree. Those who hold the CSP and applied without a minimum of a bachelor's degree will have several options to meet the new CSP education requirement, available to them through December 31, 2020. More information about this change may be found in the FAQ Regarding the CSP Education Requirement Change.
Effective Date: August 15, 2018


Effective Date: July 2, 2018
  • To improve fairness in the exam process, candidates who do not pass a BCSP examination will be required to wait six (6) weeks before retaking the exam. More information about this change can be found in the FAQ Regarding the BCSP Retesting Policy.


Effective Date: January 1, 2018
  • The following credentials grant BCSP certificants who attain them the listed recertification points in Category 10:
    • The Safety Management Specialist (SMS) grants BCSP certificants 25 points towards recertification, whether earned before or after this effective date.
Effective Date: January 1, 2018
  • Several credentials granting recertification points in Category 10 grant new amounts of points, which can be found in the Recertification Guide.
Effective Date: June 15, 2018
8645 Guion Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268  |  P: +1 317-593-4800  |  F: +1 317-593-4400

© 2018 by Board of Certified Safety Professionals. Terms Of Use - Privacy Policy

Design, development and hosting by Accuraty Solutions, LLC