2017 Current Changes Index

Latest Policy and Procedure Changes

Published on Monday, December 12, 2016


Effective Date: December 1, 2016
  • The Graduate Safety Practitioner® (GSP) designation is available at 10 new Qualified Academic Programs, which may be viewed on the GSP webpage in the GSP QAP List, and which will continue to be updated as new programs are added.
Effective Date: January 1, 2017
  • Should an applicant wish to transfer an application fee from one certification application to another (e.g., from the STS to the STSC), an additional $25 fee will be assessed.
Effective Date: May 1, 2017
  • GSP applicants may submit a copy of their college transcript.
    • Official transcripts in an original, sealed envelope, or sent electronically from the awarding college, will only be required when the GSP applicant is audited.


Effective Date: Mid- to late-2017
  • The Safety Management Specialist (SMS) will be released, following the new SMS1 blueprint.
Effective Date: Mid- to late-2017
  • The Occupational Health and Safety Technologist® (OHST) examination will change according to its regular update schedule, following a new OHST5 blueprint.
Effective Date: Mid- to late-2017
  • The Safety Trained Supervisor® (STS) examination will change according to its regular update schedule, following a new STS3 blueprint.


Effective Date: November 15, 2016
  • The Certified Environmental, Safety & Health Trainer® (CET) now requires 2.8 Recertification Points each Recertification Cycle (down from 3) for teaching, developing, and/or attending courses on instructional techniques.
Effective Date: January 1, 2017
  • The following credentials grant BCSP certificants who attain them recertification points in Category 10:
    • The Commissioned Inspector from the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors grants 3 points
    • The MISPN from the Institute of Safety Professionals of Nigeria grants 25 points
    • The Diploma in Industrial Safety from the Central Labour Institute in Mumbai or the Regional Labour Institutes in Chennai, Faridabad, Kanpur or Kolkata grants 25 points
Effective Date: March 1, 2017
  • Certificants who are retiring can hold their certification in retired status should they meet the following requirements:
    • They have held certification a minimum of ten (10) years, and
    • they have completed two (2) Recertification cycles.

  • To maintain a certification in retired status:
    • Safety practice is not required.
    • No more than 200 hours of safety practice annually is allowed.
    • A Retired Annual Renewal Fee is required each year (beginning with 2018 renewals).

  • A certificant holding a certification in retired status must indicate their status as in the following examples:
    • Name, CSP Retired
    • Name, CSP (Retired)
    • Name, CSP Ret.
    • Name, Certified Safety Professional (Retired)
Effective Date: April 1, 2017
  • The Certified Public Health (CPH) credential grants BCSP certificants who attain it 5 recertification points in Category 10
8645 Guion Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268  |  P: +1 317-593-4800  |  F: +1 317-593-4400

Copyright © 2017 by Board of Certified Safety Professionals. Terms Of Use

Design, development and hosting by Accuraty Solutions, LLC